How to

User Guide on How to use Messenger Rooms

use Messenger Rooms
Written by Hassan Abbas

As the world starts to cope with the new normal of staying indoors during the COVID-19 pandemic. Facebook has started rolling out Messenger Rooms for users across the globe to help keep you connected to your fellas. Let’s talk about the User Guide on How to use Messenger Rooms.

The move from the social media giant appears as a means to compete with rival services. Such as Google Meet, Zoom, and Microsoft Teams. All of whom have already invested their resources in providing the best ways to collaborate remotely.

Messenger Rooms is an extension of Facebook’s already popular Messenger service. And the feature will allow users to talk to up to 50 participants at once with audio and video. The following guide will help you learn everything that Messenger Rooms offers. And how you can use it yourself on your phone and PC.

What is Messenger Rooms

Messenger Rooms is a feature inside Facebook Messenger which will let you host audio and video calls with up to 50 other users simultaneously. You will be able to join meetings using a joining link from within the messenger but you can also enter one without being on Facebook.

Once a participant has joined the meeting, they can come and go as they please for as long as the room link is live. Unlike Zoom’s free plan, Messenger Rooms can be used for an unlimited amount of time. You can also lock a session and once it’s locked, only a room host will be able to leave and re-enter the room.

How to create a video meeting with Messenger Rooms

You can start a video call on Messenger Rooms on both PC and phone. To start a call on Messenger Rooms, download and install the Messenger app on your phone from Google Play. Once the app is installed, open it, tap on the People tab at the bottom and select the ‘Create a Room’ at the top.

Messenger will now ask for access to your camera and microphone and then proceed to create a personal room. Once a room has been created, you can share a link to it with all the participants you want to add to the room. Meeting links can then be shared with others within the Messenger app and also across other apps available on your device.

How to add someone in a room

To add someone to a Messenger room, you have to first create a room and then tap on the ‘Share Link’ button at the bottom. When you do so, you will be able to share the joining link to the room using the sharing menu listed on Messenger.

By default, you will be able to add members to your room through the Messenger app, Instagram, and Messages apps as well as have the ability to copy the link or send it through email.

Tapping on the ‘More’ option will open the native share menu on your Android device, letting you choose which app to share the room link to. You can also add people to your rooms during the meeting session by tapping the link button at the bottom.

In addition to inviting individual users, you can invite people through your News Feed, Groups, and Events.

Choose who can join a meeting in Rooms

When creating a meeting, you can choose who will be able to join you on Messenger Rooms by tapping on the Edit button adjacent to ‘Who can join’. When you do that, you will be able to choose between two options.

  • People with the link: If you select this option, anyone with the room link will be able to join the messenger room that you just created. This could include people who might not even be on your friends’ list on Facebook as well as those who do not have a Facebook account altogether. Users can also enter the room using the room link without needing to sign in to a Facebook account or create a new one.
  • Only people on Facebook: Selecting this option will prevent non-Facebook users to join the room that you created, even if they receive a link to your room. Selecting this option doesn’t stop Facebook users other than the ones who are in your friends’ list from entering the room if they have a joining link.

Leave and get a call when someone joins the room

When you create a Messenger room, you have an option to leave the room temporarily so that you can join later when someone else joins. You can do so by tapping the cross button at the top right and selecting the ‘Leave’ option at the bottom. You will now be taken back to the Messenger home screen and you will be notified when someone enters the room that you created.

How to join a meeting on Messenger Rooms

You can join a meeting inside Messenger Rooms using the link that someone sends you. Users can send you links across various apps and you can choose to join the room with or without a Facebook account.

As a Facebook user

When someone shares a link to a Messenger Room through Messenger, the link will be available as a message on the app. You can join the room by tapping the link and selecting the ‘Join as <your name>’ button at the bottom.

About the author

Hassan Abbas

Tech enthusiast with too many items on his wish-list and not nearly enough money! Specializing in all things tech, with a slight Apple bent he has been writing for various blogs for the best part of (too many) years

Leave a Comment