Snapchat is one of the most famous social media applications currently. Especially amongst teenagers and youngsters below the age of 25 as well. Female users are really higher on this application if compared to the usage analytics of other social media platforms. It follows a really unique format that permits its users to share temporary images and small videos to share constant updates along with their family and friends. Just read this article to know all about How to Unsend a Snap on Snapchat – User Guide. Let’s begin
Since the primary format of communication in Snapchat basically follows the template of short media snippets. You can tap into popularity if you guys are well-versed in this niche. If you can be creative along with your content and implement aesthetic elements into your creations. Then you can easily create a name for yourself on this platform. But, it is absolutely vital to stay aware of this application’s features and settings before you want to utilize its benefits and offerings. Now let us try to understand how you can unsend a Snap on Snapchat.
How to Unsend a Snap on Snapchat – User Guide
Any pictures or videos that you guys send to your friends on Snapchat are called Snaps. When you open Snapchat, then you will find a black circle at the bottom center of the screen. Click on it to get a snap.
These snaps can also be viewed for a duration of 10 seconds per replay. Snaps get deleted when all the recipients view them. If you want to increase the duration of their availability online, then you can add them to your Stories. Every story will expire after 24 hours.
Another common term that we use along with regard to snaps is Snapstreak. A snap streak is a trend that you can maintain along with your friend. If you and your friends snap at each other for three days in a consecutive manner, then you will begin a snap streak. A flame emoji will show next to your friend’s name and also indicate the number of days for that you have kept the streak going on.
Unsend a Snap on Snapchat?
Generally, Snapchat deletes text messages, videos, and photos immediately after the receiver views them. If you want to preserve it, then there is a Save option. You can replay the snap as well if you want to. The user can also screenshot the chat as well. But, the other person whom you are texting will receive a notification about your actions. There is actually no discrete way to go about it.
Deleting sent messages and snaps from your chat when you wish to is not a big deal. But, you cannot do anything about it after it is delivered. That is, reach the recipient when it leaves from your end. However, it is possible that situations will arise where you will have to retract your action no matter what.
Snapchat users try to incorporate many methods to unsend a snap, in case they send it to someone whom it was not meant for or send the wrong snap to the wrong person as well. Let us now look at some of the most-tried options whenever trying to see how to unsend a snap on Snapchat.
Blocking The User
Continuing from the previous tried-and-tested method, a lot of users try blocking and unblocking a user they sent a wrong snap to. This was a method most users swore via previously as it used to work before. Previously, if you block a user after sending a snap, then it would display as opened and no longer viewable. But, Snapchat has seemingly updated its chat settings, and as a result, the blocked user will still be able to see your snap when you send it. Thus, this method is also futile now.
Turning Off Data
Many users believe that turning off their mobile data or Wi-Fi will stop the snap from leaving their phone and avoid the action. Many users suggested this method whenever trying to figure out how you can unsend a snap on Snapchat. But, there is a catch here. All of your snaps and text messages are stored in Snapchat’s cloud server as soon when you upload them in your recipient’s chat. Thus, switching your device to the Airplane Mode or turning off data will also prove to be of no help.
Unfriending The User
This is actually the first method that most users opt for while seeing can you unsend messages on Snapchat. Blocking someone just because you do not wish them to see a snap might be a little too extreme. But, this does not work to unsend the snaps, and the recipient will still able to see them once when you send them. The only difference is that they will not reply back to the snap as you have unfriended them.
Logging Out Of Account
Users have tried to log out of their account when they realized that they had committed an error. Some have even cleared the cache and data of the app on their device, however, this was not a solution to the query of can you unsend messages on Snapchat.
Delete a Snap on Snapchat?
- First, open the particular chat in which you want to delete the snap. Tap on the Message and hold it for a long time to see the options. There you guys will find the Delete Option. Click on it to Delete a message.
- A pop-up will also appear to confirm if you want to delete the snap, click on Delete.
- You can also delete text messages in just the same way. Tap on a text and long press to see the Delete option.
- Again, you guys will see a prompt asking if you want to delete the text. Tap on ‘Delete Text’ to delete your text from the recipient’s chat.
Well, That is all from my side. If you want to know more about this article or have any queries. Then feel free to ask me anything in the comments section below.
Have a Good Day!
Leave a Comment