Apple How to

How to Share Documents in icloud drive

icloud drive
Written by Hassan Abbas

Improved collaboration for iCloud Drive arrives along with iOS 13.4, iPadOS 13.4, and macOS Catalina 10.15.4. Follow along for how you can share iCloud Drive folders from iPhone and iPad in the latest software releases. In this article, we are going to talk about How to Share Documents in iCloud Drive. Let’s begin!

Shared folders have been a long-requested feature from iCloud Drive users and the latest iPhone, iPad, and also Mac software. That offers up an easy way to share with others, which includes multiple folders at a time. There are also some handy permission options that come along with these new features.

If you remember seeing this feature last year, then that is because it debuted with the iOS 13 betas back in June. However, was then removed from later betas as well as the public release of the software in the fall. In any case, it is really great to see this valuable functionality arrive!

you have been able to share and collaborate on iWork documents for a while, but iPhones, iPads, and also Macs can share and collaborate on documents in real-time, directly via iCloud Drive. Let’s see how it works.

Share a document in iCloud Drive

  • Make sure that you are running iOS 13.4/iPadOS 13.4
  • Go to the Files app and then navigate to iCloud Drive
  • Long press on a folder then click Share
  • In order to share multiple folders, tap Select
  • Choose multiple folders, click the Share icon (square with up arrow)

Here is a more detailed look at the process on the iPhone:

In order to quickly share one folder, long press, and then use the share option toward the bottom of the list. You can also swipe up on the share sheet as shown below and then select Add People. This will permit you to share the same folder with multiple people.

At the bottom of the screen, you can also dial in sharing permissions such as who can view the folders and if they can make changes. The default is set as “Only people you invite” can access the folders, and also “Can make changes” for permission.

If you’d want to share multiple folders, click select as shown above in third and fourth screenshots then click the share icon.

How can we Adjust permissions for a document in iCloud Drive

You may want to allow some folks to make changes to a document, but only allowing others to see the document. You can also adjust your permissions per-person or for everyone.

icloud drive

Adjust permissions for a document on your iPhone and iPad also

  • Open the Files app on your iPhone or iPad as well.
  • Click on iCloud Drive.
  • Click on the folder that contains the desired document.
  • Press Select in the upper right corner.
  • Press the document for which you would like to adjust permissions.
  • Tap on the Share icon.
  • Click Show People in the Share Sheet.
  • Press Share Options in order to change the permissions for everyone
  • Tap a contact in order to change the share permission for an individual.
  • Press the permission settings.

Adjust permissions for a document on your Mac

  • First, open a Finder window on your Mac.
  • Select iCloud Drive from your sidebar.
  • Open the folder that contains the document you want to choose.
  • Right- or Control-click on the document for which you wish to change permissions.
  • Tap on Share from the drop-down menu.
  • Press on Show People.
  • Tap on Share Options in order to change the permissions for everyone
  • Choose a contact and click on the More icon to change the share permission for an individual. It just looks like three white dots.
  • Choose the permission settings.

Remove someone in a document in iCloud Drive

If you no longer want to collaborate with someone on a document, then you do not have to open the original app to un-invite collaborators. In iOS 11 and later, you can do this right from iCloud Drive.

Delete someone from collaborating in a document on iPhone and iPad

  • Open the Files app on your iPhone or iPad as well.
  • Click on iCloud Drive.
  • Press the folder that contains the document you’d like to modify.
  • Click Select in the upper right corner.
  • Press the document that you no longer want to collaborate on.
  • Click on the Share icon.
  • Press Show People in the Share Sheet.
  • Press the contact you want to remove from collaboration.
  • Click Remove Access.
  • Then tap OK.

However, if you are collaborating on a document with multiple people and would like to remove access for everyone. Then you can click Stop Sharing at the bottom of the invite list.

Remove someone from collaborating in a document on your Mac

  • Open a Finder window on your Mac.
  • Choose iCloud Drive from your sidebar.
  • Open the folder that contains the document that you want to modify.
  • Right- or Control-click on the document on which you no longer want to collaborate.
  • Tap on Share from the drop-down menu.
  • Tap on Show People.
  • Choose the contact you want to remove from collaboration.
  • Tap on the More button next to the contact. It will look like three white dots.
  • Tap on Remove Access.
  • Press on Done.

Share iCloud Drive Folders on your Mac

icloud drive

On the Mac, you will find that the iCloud Drive features are built right into the Finder application. When you have updated your Mac to macOS Catalina 10.15.4, you will be able to share iCloud Drive folders right from your Mac.

  • Here, locate the folder that you wish to share and right-click on it to open the context menu.
  • Now, go to the “Share” menu and then choose the “Add People” option.
  • You will now see a new “Add People” window.
  • Expand the “Share Options” menu in this window in order to manage the permission and folder access. If you simply wish to copy the link, then click on the “Copy Link” button.
  • In order to share the folder using the Messages app, tap on the Messages app icon and press the “Share” button.
  • From the next screen, you have to enter the name of the contact, and then tap on the “Send” button.
  • In order to monitor the sharing settings or to remove a contact from the folder sharing. You can go back to the “Share” option in the context menu. Here, click on the “Show People” button.
  • From the popup menu, you should expand the “Share Options” panel. Here, you can tap on “Stop Sharing” to stop sharing the folder.

Conclusion

Alright, That was all Folks! I hope you guys like this article and also find it helpful to you. Give us your feedback on it. Also if you guys have further queries related to this article. Then let us know in the comments section below. We will get back to you shortly.

Have a Great Day!

Also See: Comparison: Apple Watch Aluminum Vs Stainless Steel

About the author

Hassan Abbas

Tech enthusiast with too many items on his wish-list and not nearly enough money! Specializing in all things tech, with a slight Apple bent he has been writing for various blogs for the best part of (too many) years

Leave a Comment