We all know the embarrassment caused whenever we send someone a message that should not have been sent actually. The reason can be anything, grammatical mistake, some awkward typing errors, as well as accidentally pressing the send button. Fortunately, WhatsApp actually introduced a feature of deleting the sent message for both sides as well, i.e., the sender and the receiver. However, what about Facebook Messenger? Not many people know that Messenger too offers the feature in order to delete a message for both sides. We all know that this feature is “Delete for Everyone”. Just read this article to know all about How to Permanently Delete Facebook Messages from Both Sides. Let’s begin!
It doesn’t even matter if you guys are an Android or an iOS user. The Delete for Everyone feature is also available on both. Now, you guys do not have to worry about all the regret and embarrassment, since we will save you. In this article, we are now going to tell you how to Permanently Delete Facebook Messenger Messages from Both Sides.
- 1 How to Permanently Delete Facebook Messages from Both Sides
How to Permanently Delete Facebook Messages from Both Sides
Just like WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature, Facebook Messenger offers its users the feature in order to delete messages for both sides, i.e., the “Remove for Everyone” feature. Initially, this feature was only available at some particular locations. However, now it can be used almost anywhere around the world. One thing to note here is that You guys can only delete a message from both sides within 10 minutes of sending the message. When you guys have crossed the 10 minutes window, then you can’t delete a message on Messenger.
You have to follow the steps given below to quickly deleted the message you sent by mistake for both sides.
- First of all, just launch the Messenger app from Facebook on your Android as well as the iOS device.
- Then open the chat from which you guys want to delete the message for both sides as well.
- Now, tap and hold the message which you guys want to delete. Now tap remove and you guys will see two options pop up on your screen as well.
- Click on ‘Unsend’ if you guys want to delete the selected message for both sides, else in order to delete the message from your end only, click on the ‘Remove for You’ option.
- Then, tap on Remove in order to confirm your decision. That’s just it. Your message will be deleted for both sides.
Note: The participant(s) of the chat will also know that you have deleted a message. When you guys have deleted a message, it will then be replaced via the “You unsent a message” card. If this method didn’t really work then try an alternative to Permanently Delete Facebook Messenger Messages from Both Sides as well.
Permanently delete a message from both sides on PC
In case you want to delete a message from both sides and you guys are past the 10 minutes window. Then you can still try steps in this method as well. We now have a trick that might actually help you as well. You have to follow the given steps and give them a try as well.
Note: We strongly recommend not to use this method since this might create problems for your Facebook account and many other participants of the chat. Also, just do not select options such as harassment as well as bullying from the given options unless that is the case.
- First of all, open Facebook and then head to the chat from where you want to delete the message.
- Now look at the right panel and then click on the ‘Something’s Wrong’ option.
- You guys will now see a pop-up that will then ask if the conversation is spam as well as harassment, or anything else. You can also mark the conversation as spam or inappropriate.
- Now just Deactivate your Facebook account and log in again after a few hours. See if the method worked or not.
Deactivating your account might also exempt the other user from viewing your message as well.
Can blocking someone Delete messages from both sides?
This might actually come to your mind that blocking someone deletes messages as well as restrains people from viewing your messages. But unfortunately, this won’t really delete already sent messages. Whenever you guys block someone, they can view messages you have sent but can’t reply as well.
Why is there only a 10-minute window to delete messages?
Well, as we have mentioned earlier in this article, Facebook only permits you to delete a message from both sides within 10 minutes of sending the message. You guys can’t really delete the message after 10 minutes of sending it.
However, why is there a limit of only 10 minutes? Facebook has now decided on such a small window because of the rapid increase in the cases of cyberbullying. So, this small window of 10 minutes restrains the deletion of messages along with the hope order to exempt people from erasing some potential evidence.
Is it possible to report a deleted abusive message on Facebook?
You guys can always report an abusive message on Facebook even if it is deleted. Facebook also keeps a copy of deleted messages in its database. So, you guys can choose the “Harassment” as well as the “Abusive” option from the Something’s Wrong button and then send feedback stating the issue. Here is how you guys can do it –
- First of all, just head to the chat that you want to report. On the bottom right, look for the ‘Something’s Wrong’ button. Tap on it.
- A new window will then pop up on your screen. Choose ‘Harassment’ or ‘abusive’ from the given options, or whichever you guys feel right.
- Now, you need to click the Send Feedback button.
Well, That is all from my side. If you want to know more about this article or have any queries. Then feel free to ask me anything in the comments section below.
Have a Good Day!
Also See: Meta Universe of Nike. Who is next?
Leave a Comment